Celtophile Artists - There Was A Lady (TB-CELT 9002)


A splendid compilation drawn from the Green Linnet catalog, focusing on solo artists and bands with female vocalists. The track listing is fairly eclectic, but entertaining throughout -- uniformly good enough that nothing stands out from the entire collection. A good place to start looking for an example of the female voice in Celtic music. ~ Steven McDonald

Track List:

1. Willie Taylor - Mary Dillon with Deanta
2. Mo Choill - Mairead Ni Mhaonaighwith Altan
3. Fogsail An Dorus/Nighean Bhuaidh' Ruadh - Karen Matheson with Capercaillie

4. Roisin Dubh (The Small Black Rose) - Cathie Ryan with Cherish the Ladies

5. Siuil A Run - Mairin Fahy with Reeltime
6. The Maid That Sold Her Barley - Mary Dillon with Deanta
7. There Was A Lady - Triona Ni Dhomhnaill
8. Ranntai Fheilinidh Na Fidile - Mairead Ni Dhomhnail
9. The Jug Of Punch - Mairead Ni Mhaonaigh with Altan
10. Am Buachaille Ban - Karen Matheson with Capercaillie
11. Green Grow The Rushes Oh - Aoife Clancy with Cherish the Ladies
12. Casadh Cam Na Feadarnaighe - Triona Ni Dhomhnaill with Touchstone
13. Dark Iniseoghain - Mary Dillon with Deanta