Celtophile Artists - My Gentle Harp (TB-CELT 9019)


Celtophile's My Gentle Harp collects traditional Celtic harp melodies into a budget-priced CD. Deanta's "Harp Airs (Rock Of Esse)," Joe Burke's "Blind Mary," Sileas' "Miss Gordon of Gight," Eugene O'Donnell's "Farewell to My Gentle Harp," and Jerry O'Sullivan's "O'Carolan's Farewell to Music" are a few of the highlights from this affordable sampler of authentic Celtic sounds. ~ Heather Phares

Producers include: Stephen Cooney, Deanta, Freeland Barbour, Joe Burke, Mick Moloney.

Compilation producer: Tom Rota.

Personnel: Kate OBrien (guitar, fiddle); Anton Seoane (guitar, accordion, keyboards); Mary Dillon (harp, synthesizer); Eoghan O'Brien, Rodrigo Romaní, Barbara Nolan, Rosalyn Briley (harp); Xose V. Ferreiros (mandolin, gaita, tin whistle, oboe); Michel Canada (violin); Joe Burke (flute); Nando Casal (gaita, tin whistle, clarinet); Rosie Mulholland (keyboards)

Track List:

1. Harp Airs: Rock of Esse/Ascent- Deanta
2. The Pipers (The Glasgow Police Pipe Band) - Sileas
3. Blind Mary - Burke, NiChathasaigh
4. The Dogs - Sileas
5. Gravelly Groove - Deanta
6. Women of Ireland - Briley, Nolan
7. Maneo da Ulla/Foliada de Padrenda - Milladoiro
8. Eleanor Plunkett - Deanta
9. The Solos (The Cameron Highlanders) - Sileas
10. O'Carolan's Farewell to Music - Briley, O'Sullivan
11. Cogair Rúin - Deanta
12. Farewell to My Gentle Harp - Briley, O'Donnell
13. Miss Gordon of Gight - Sileas